Home / Articles / News / Local NEWS /  OU prof honored by inventor group
. . . . . . .
Sunday, December 15,2013

OU prof honored by inventor group

Ohio University Loehr Professor of Mechanical Engineering David Bayless has been named a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors for his development of engineering technologies that seek to address the nation's energy and environmental problems, according to an OU news release.

Fellows are nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society and support and enhancement of innovation. The 143 innovators elected to National Academy of Inventors Fellow status this year represent 94 universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions.

During his 18 years as a faculty member in OU's Russ College of Engineering and Technology, Bayless has investigated a number of issues for the advanced energy and environmental remediation field, including new ways to use coal as an energy source. He has been a leader in coal and biomass gasification through ultra-high temperature steam reforming, as well as in adapting planar solid oxide fuel cells to use coal-derived syngas.

Bayless also has focused on creating solutions for efficiently and effectively growing and harvesting algae for use by the growing state and national industries that seek biomass for energy or health and medical purposes.

Bayless holds five U.S. patents, 25 international patents and has 13 patent applications pending.

In a news release, he credited his strong community of innovative faculty members, graduate students and undergraduate students for helping him achieve success.

"Ohio University - from the Russ College of Engineering and Technology to the Technology Transfer Office - supports invention and entrepreneurship, which creates an environment that can foster innovation. The students and faculty are engaged, and we all encourage each other," Bayless said in the release.

Bayless will be inducted during the third annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors on March 7 in Alexandria, Va. Fellows will be presented with a special trophy and a rosette pin.

Bayless is the third Ohio University faculty member to be named a National Academy of Inventors fellow. In 2012, John Kopchick of the Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine and Edison Biotechnology Institute and Gerardine Botte of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology received the honor.


  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5